Friday Favorites: Fall Drinks

(Clearly, feeling under the weather has made me a bit delirious.  What was I thinking? Moms don’t get sick days.)

Ok, so it’s not technically fall just yet, but today in New Haven it sure felt like it could be; thin, crisp air, rustling leaves, dry branches cracking under the wheels of Manu’s tricycle.  “Sweater weather” I like to call it.  The perfect day for my perfect fall drink: a Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte.  Say what you will about the giant corporation, this latte is heaven in a cup.

It’s everything I love in a fall drink: hot, frothy, caffeinated goodness and it’s pumpkin flavor.  I heart pumpkin.  Pumpkin lattes, pumpkin bread, pumpkin ravioli, pumpkin pie.  Oh, pumpkin pie.  I make sure my sister Aziza has it on the dessert spread every Thanksgiving.  A couple of years ago during a phone conversation regarding that year’s menu she said to me:

” You know, I only make it for you.  You’re the only one who likes it.  Everyone else eats apple”

Really?  Out of the 20+ people that gather at my uncle’s home in CT every Thanksgiving, I’m the only who can’t wait to grab a slice (or two) of the pumpkin pie?  Then why is it nearly gone at the end of the evening? Better watch the size of those slices this year.

Yeah, so the Pumpkin Spice Latte.  Well, Double- Tall, Extra- Hot, Pumpkin Spice Latte if we’re being exact.  It’s my perfect fall drink and all this talk has me jonesing for one right now.  I just might have to send Riz out to get the first one of the season.

So what’s your favorite thing to sip on when the temperature drops and the leaves start to turn?  Cider from the local orchard?  Chocolat chaud? A little teacup of steaming herbal tea?  Oktoberfest? (Hey, I’m not judging)

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Fall Drinks

  1. Yummmm! Sweetness 7 cafe makes an amaaazing Mexican hot chocolate…I’m also quite partial to Starbucks’ caramel apple cider 🙂 I LOVE FALL!!!

Leave a Reply

